DiverseRepublicafrobeat vol.6 - Afrobeat Ibérico
Release datum:10/20/2023
Genre:World Music/Afrika/Afrobeat

In 2023, the A.C. AfrobeatProject celebrates 20 years of Afrobeat travel around the world. It has been an exciting and nourishing adventure that makes us proud. That's why, together with Kasba Music, we want to celebrate it with the release of a new volume of REPUBLICAFROBEAT.

Volume 6 of REPUBLICAFROBEAT will be called AFROBEAT IBÉRICO and aims to reflect the Afrobeat scene in Galicia, the Basque Country, Asturias, Catalonia, Madrid, Aragon, Extremadura, Andalusia and Portugal. The Iberian Peninsula is a melting pot of cultures, a land of comings and goings where the black presence and multiracial coexistence has been relevant for centuries. Its music has deeply permeated among its people. And Afrobeat, a musical genre created by Nigerians Fela Kuti and Tony Allen, has been a protagonist for decades. Originally conceived as a tool for social engagement, it is a vehicle for connection regardless of colour, race, religion, gender, identity or ideology.

Afrobeat is practised all over the world, from Israel to Brazil, from Poland to the United States, from Chile to Mozambique, from Puerto Rico to Nigeria, from Austria to Ethiopia, from Japan to Mexico, from Senegal to Colombia and many more. A few years ago, in 2012, the A.C. AfrobeatProject published the album La Música Es el Arma del Futuro. A Tribute to Fela from Spanish Bands, where we reflected the Afrobeat scene in Spain through versions of Fela. Now, in this REPUBLICAFROBEAT VOL.6- AFROBEAT IBÉRICO, we want to extend the sample with original songs from some of the bands that make up the Iberian geography: Macheta SupahSound (Galiza); Makala and Makulu Ken (Basque Country); Gecko Turner (Extremadura); Eskorzo and Los 300 (Andalusia); Akin & The Afrobeat Brothers (Asturies); Afro Soul Toasting, Ogun Afrobeat, Juno & Darrell and Kumar Sublevao-Beat & Machete Horns (Madrid); Alma Afrobeat Ensemble and Kwame Adzraku (Catalonia); Couscous Party (Aragon); and Cacique'97, Carapaus Orkestra and Kumpania Algazarra (Portugal), and the contribution of the remixers Oscar B. Martos, Dj Panko and Dj Floro.

The design is the work of Txarly Brown.

Enjoy the journey.

For Ever Lives Afrobeat!

  • 145.000$ (Guapapasea)05:48
    Music: Gecko Turner
  • 2Eu Quero Tudo04:15
    Music: Goncalo Oliveira/Milton Gulli
  • 3Afro Punk03:52
    Music: Oscar Martos/Juno Kotto King
  • 4Afrikun Ya Está En La Calle05:08
    Music: Dasar Kumar Mora Medina/Regis Molina/Daniel Allen
  • 5Kalakuta Está Viva06:32
    Music: Couscous Party
  • 6Don’T Worry’ Bout Life (Dj Panko Remix)04:00
    Music: Kwame Adzraku/DJ Panko
  • 7Room Enough For Us-Terrificos Remix (Dinky Edit)04:22
    Music: Alma Afrobeat Ensemble/Ray Lugo
  • 8Survivors04:55
    Music: Ezequiel Olmo Fernández/Jaime Garcia Quirantes/Manuel Collados Suarez/Daniel Carbonell de las Heras
  • 9Slowly05:05
    Music: Zé Vito
  • 10Fela Liks04:43
    Music: Akindimeji Onasanya
  • 11Mongo Blanco (Edit)06:08
    Music: Macheta SupahSound
  • 12Sacrificio Del Alma (Edit)04:23
    Music: Carlos Santana/Jose O Areas/Michael John Carabello/David Brown/Gregg Rolie/Michaek Shrieve
  • 13Afrika Kontinente Ahaztua04:48
    Music: Mikel Unzurrunzaga Schmitz
  • 14Be A Looser02:58
    Music: Oscar Martos
  • 15Yeserimawo03:49
    Music: Samuel Akinola Ogunmola
  • 16So!03:55
    Music: Xabi Makulu
  • 17Kumpania Algazarra Ft Ikonoklasta– Actuality03:45
    Music: Luis Barrocas/Luaty Beirao/Francisco Amorim/Mateja Dolsak/Gil Goncalves
Download all tracks as MP3
Select Tracks
Download selected tracks as MP3
Cover Download
Download Infosheet