LST - Lisboa String TrioCanções Concretas E Outras Histórias
Release datum:9/22/2023
Label:Espelho de Cultura
Genre:World Music/Portugal

Mixing World Music and Jazz elements, with those of Classical music, LST – Lisboa String Trio has created a new repertoir that can be listened in their new album “Canções Concretas e Outras Histórias” (Tangible Songs and Other Stories).

After releasing three albums – “Matéria” (2014), awarded by the Carlos Paredes Prize in 2015, “Lisboa” (2016), nominated for the Best Album of 2016 category by the Portuguese Author's Society and “Aqui e Ali” (2020), being one of the songs “Ai mas ai de mim” (Tiago Torres da Silva/José Peixoto) performed by Cristina Branco, awarded by IPMA (International Portuguese Music Awards) in the category of “Best Fado Performance” –, LST - Lisboa String Trio closes a fruitful cycle.

Two musicians remain from the previous line-up: José Peixoto (guitar) and Carlos Barretto (double bass). The new members who last integrated the group are the Catalan musician Marc Planells (lutes, sitar and percussion) and Sofia Vitória (voice), as a guest artist, succeeding gratifying collaborations of other voices such as Cristina Branco, Maria Berasarte and Ricardo Ribeiro. This new sound takes on new shades, explores new directions and maintains its ‘cultural location’. Beyond songs, and without losing sight of the instrumental matrix that characterizes its music, the group relies on Sofia Vitória's ability and skill to use the voice as an instrument, thanks to her jazz background.

This new phase includes eleven themes. Six of those, signed by José Peixoto, are anchored in the unprecedented ‘open poetry’ of the author João Monge breaking with the more usual process of ‘lyrics-music’.

This setup – a never-before-tested novelty in the creative relationship between these two authors – gives way to more open and abstract musical forms which approaches them to the very roots and identity of LST.

  • 1Laranjas Com Versos03:41
    Music: José PeixotoLyrics: João MongeISRC: PT9ET-23-00000
  • 2Ouço Vozes03:51
    Music: José PeixotoLyrics: João MongeISRC: PT9ET-23-00001
  • 3Chegar à Fala04:51
    Music: José PeixotoLyrics: João MongeISRC: PT9ET-23-00002
  • 4A Voz das Pedras06:07
    Music: José PeixotoLyrics: João MongeISRC: PT9ET-23-00003
  • 5O Outro Lado-Água e Sal05:45
    Music: José PeixotoLyrics: João MongeISRC: PT9ET-23-00004
  • 6Bad Seed03:55
    Music: Carlos BarrettoISRC: PT9ET-23-00005
  • 7Castiçal03:50
    Music: José PeixotoLyrics: João MongeISRC: PT9ET-23-00006
  • 8Uma História Bizarra03:37
    Music: Marc PlanellsISRC: PT9ET-23-00007
  • 9Lá Fora o Sol03:41
    Music: José PeixotoISRC: PT9ET-23-00008
  • 10As Regras da Loucura03:13
    Music: José PeixotoLyrics: João MongeISRC: PT9ET-23-00009
  • 11Alba05:55
    Music: Sofia VitóriaISRC: PT9ET-23-00010
Download all tracks as MP3
Download selected tracks as WAV
Select Tracks
Download selected tracks as MP3
Download selected tracks as WAV
Cover Download
Download Infosheet
  • Carlos Barretto: double bass
  • Sofia Vitória: vocals, percussion
  • Marc Planells: oud, citar, percussion
  • Peixoto, Jose: Guitar
Country of recording: PortugalC2023 Espelho de CulturaP2023 Espelho de Cultura