Martti Vesala Soundpost QuintetLandmarks
Release datum:11/4/2022

Undercurrents can be unpredictable and violent on occasion. This was certainly the case for Martti Vesala's new Soundpost album: "I really intended for the music to sound more Nordic, to give it a sense of calm, longing and space," he recalls. "I'm drawing inspiration from more varied sources now."

This ambition matches the emotional oscillations of the autobiographical Landmarks, written during a period of personal turmoil. Everyone in the band has grown, starting with Vesala who draws a lot from non-trumpet greats like John Coltrane. The Soundpost Quintet members, meanwhile, are gelling tighter than ever while simultaneously excelling as individual instrumentalists. Landmarks is a rollercoaster ride entirely his own – and easily Martti Vesala's biggest vision so far.

Visions beyond Miles: Landmarks is Martti Vesala's Nordic album, a personal statement of great calm, longing and space.

  • 1Wild Eyes05:38
  • 2Night Flight Home06:00
  • 3Travelogue04:13
  • 4Magenta Drive05:50
  • 5Trial By Fire04:48
  • 6Landmarks05:06
  • 7Double Image05:07
  • 8Closer To The Surface07:02
Cover Download
Download Infosheet
  • Joonas Haavisto: piano and rhodes
  • Juho Kivivuori: double bass
  • Petri Puolitaival: saxophones, flutes, bass clarinet
  • Vesala, Martti: trumpet & fluegelhorn
  • Ville Pynssi: drums & percussion
C2022 OzellaP2022 Ozella